when dreams beguile

dreams

I fall asleep
late into the dark hours of night
on the unyielding sofa 
and dream so vividly
about waking up
slipping off the couch in a half sleep
turning off the TV and picking up the cat
purring soflty in my ear
feeling her sandpaper tongue
lick the salty sweet of my neck
as I trudge sleepily across the living room
heavy lidded and heavy footed up the stairs
feel the carpet tickling my cold bare feet
feeling the familiar texture of the walls
as my fingertips trace the path
down the hallway toward my room
past the safe warm nests
of my sleeping angels
crawl into the haven of bed
stretch my stiff legs
under the cold sheets
and snuggle into the warmth and safety of his back
falling back to sleep
into another vivid dream
of  what I don’t remember
it’s just out of my mind’s reach
yet I wake in the morning
confused
out of place
out of bed
still on the couch
it was a dream

2 thoughts on “when dreams beguile

  1. Betsy February 27, 2015 / 7:59 pm

    this is beautiful.

    Like

    • Breathe in. Breathe out. Live. February 27, 2015 / 8:08 pm

      Thanks,Betsy. My creative writing is VERY rusty. But I’m having fun playing with some different formats and getting used to it again and improving (of which there is much room for lol). xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

