as no one ever has

fdad4760cb3ecf07c466da72e851b596

The ocean breeze
flows up the hills
rustling the leaves
bringing with it saltiness
that crusts my cheeks

the vast black sky
dotted with fiery lanterns
shining down on me
through me
ignite in me
a warmth
a glow

I stand
alighted from within
I sway
as the strands of your heart
play lyrical notes of truth
reaching out to me
filling the air between us

as your fingers strum the guitar strings
they tug at the strings of my heart
I imagine those beautiful long fingers
filled with hope and longing and safety
I feel them travel up my spine
softly stroking my neck
brushing the tears from my freckled cheek
running through the soft tendrils of my hair
softly
sweetly
lovingly
as no one ever has

everything, everyone, every hurt
fades away
under your gaze
you see me
as no one never has

you listen
you hear
as my soul reaches out to yours
and you reach back
as no one ever has

5 thoughts on “as no one ever has

  1. Betsy July 7, 2015 / 7:43 pm

    This took my breath away! Just gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucinda Tart August 25, 2015 / 2:32 pm

    Reblogged this on livingyournewlifewithchronicpain and commented:
    This is a wonderful poem that I, as a chronic pain survivor, relate to as a metaphor for both hope, understanding and possibly a cure someday. Thank you for this beautiful imagery.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

