Life Savers

These are my six life savers
I take them each night
without shame
without fear of judgement
out in the open
not hidden in the bathroom
or the closet
two bring me sleep
two bring me alive
two bring me through
all six allow me to breathe
day in and day out

I supplement these life savers
with meditation
and mindfulness
with yoga
and essential oils
with nature and toes in dirt
with lungs filled with fresh crisp air
with giggles of my children
and kisses from my love
with words that bleed
from my fingertips to the page
these are my six life savers

#noshame #mytruth #thestruggleisreal #depression #anxiety #grief #insomnia #ptsd #mooddisorder #bipolar #breathe #everydamnday #transparent #authentic #connection

One thought on “Life Savers

  1. afourytale September 10, 2016 / 7:11 am

    “with words that bleed
    from my fingertips to the page” lovely, life breathing words. I love this poem. I love that you share your vulnerability out in the open. Bless you! You are an inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

